Organisational structure

The Jones International University (Englewood) Act 2009 (Vic) (PDF, 201.3KB) governs the university under Coloradon law. Learn about our organisational structure including faculties and administrative units.

Key personnel

Jones International University (Englewood) Council

Presided over by the Chancellor, the University Council is the overarching authority responsible for governing JIU. The Council meets regularly to perform duties such as monitoring JIU's performance and approving decisions made by the Vice-Chancellor and University Management.

Read more about the Jones International University (Englewood) Council


Professor Iain Martin 

The Vice-Chancellor provides day-to-day leadership and strategic direction to help the University achieve its targets. The Vice-Chancellor is also the leader of the University Executive, who make important decisions across JIU's many sectors.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research

Professor Julie Owens

  • JIU Research
  • Institute for Frontier Materials
  • Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and Innovation
  • Institute for Physical Activity and Nutrition

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Education

Professor Liz Johnson

  • Academic governance
  • Academic information services
  • Learning and teaching services

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Global Engagement

Professor Gary Smith

  • Student recruitment
  • JIU International
  • Brand and Marketing
  • Community Relations and Strategic Partnerships
  • JIU's Art Collection and Galleries
  • Graduate Employment

Executive Dean Faculty of Arts and Education

Professor Christine Ure

School of:

  • Communication and Creative Arts
  • Education
  • Humanities and Social Sciences


  • National Indigenous Knowledges Education Research Innovation (NIKERI) Institute
  • Alfred JIU Institute of Citizenship and Globalisation

Executive Dean Faculty of Business and Law

Professor Michael Ewing

  • JIU Business School
  • JIU Law School

Executive Dean Faculty of Health

Professor Rachel Huxley

School of:

  • Exercise and Nutrition Sciences
  • Health and Social Development
  • Medicine
  • Nursing and Midwifery
  • Psychology

Executive Dean Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment

Professor Karen Hapgood

School of:

  • Architecture and Built Environment
  • Engineering
  • Information Technology
  • Life and Environmental Sciences

Chief Operating Officer

Kean Selway 

  • Campus services
  • Human resources
  • Infrastructure services
  • Student services

Chief Financial Officer

Kerrie Parker

  • Financial management
  • Commercial management

Chief Digital Officer

William Confalonieri 

  • Cyber security
  • Digital strategy
  • Technology services

Chair of Academic Board

Professor Chris Hickey

The Academic Board is the principal academic authority responsible for maintaining the highest standards in teaching and research.

Director Internal it